Institut de Chimie Moléculaire et des Matériaux d'Orsay

Presentation of the ICMMO

 


The independent scientific teams, conduct their research according to their areas of expertise. However, all activities will grow by 4 axis transverse to combine basic research and applications beneficial to society:

  1. Chemistry and Health
  2. Energy
  3. Information
  4. Environment 

Chemistry and Health

» Coordinnator: David Bonnaffé

» Groups mobilized on that topic:
       Synthèse Organique et Méthodologie
       Procédés et Substances Naturelles
       Catalyse Moléculaire
       Chimie Bioorganique et Bioinorganique
       Glycochimie Moléculaire et Macromoléculaire
       RMN en milieu orienté

The ICMMO has all the expertise necessary to develop methods by original target of enantiomerically pure molecules and analyzing their interaction with biomolecules. Understanding these interactions enzyme / substrate protein / sugar or protein / protein is the basis for the development of future drugs. Organic chemistry and methodology, control of chirality, chemistry of sugars and metal complexes. As many know-how possessed by researchers ICMMO, without forgetting the detection of chirality by NMR, which will play a synergistic role for drug development, métallodrogues, biosensors, artificial enzymes ... the role of chemists in steps to move from a "key" to a "seeded" (optimizing molecular testing in vitro, in cellular and in vivo) and its application in molecular form (prodrugs, vectorization, chip preparation and biosensors), will be an apparent centrality of research developed in the coming years. And will be favored in the years to come.

The synthesis of new molecules, total synthesis of biologically active molecules (oligosaccharides, alkaloids and analogues), prepared by means original (enantioselective catalysis, memory of chirality, photochemistry ...) of non-natural amino acids, rational design or optimization of molecular ' inhibitors or protein ligands (new anti-inflammatory glycoconjugate, sugar-chimera protein targeting HIV), use of dynamic combinatorial chemistry, or classical, and preparation of nanoparticles with surfaces combinatorial identify new structures with a modulating activity of 'spindle assembly or tubulin migration of metastases.

Formatting molecules represent axis of very active research: surface modification by molecules to make them bioactive, or to develop diagnostic tools (detection of thrombosis, and viral ...), targeting of active coupling with mimics of RGD or oligosaccharides, preparation of prodrugs, multivalent presentation of oligosaccharide compounds to potentiate their effect.
Finally, the development of new methods for imaging cellular or molecular clock control of cellular aging will provide new avenues for original research, and the constant development of new analysis of NMR-oriented environment.

Chemistry and Energy

» Coordinnator: Pierre Millet

» Equipes mobilisées sur ce thème :
       Glycochimie Moléculaire et Macromoléculaire
       Chimie inorganique
       Etude des Matériaux Hors Equilibre
       Physicochimie de l’Etat Solide

Again, the ICMMO has, through the teams mentioned above, a number of expertise that allow to think that he can participate extremely important to solve a problem that is becoming more crucial for our society: energy. The ICMMO think even create progressively, as will be discussed later, a team focused on this theme. For now, the four main aspects mingle harmoniously developed academic research and applied research and will be supported through contracts (EU, ANR, industrial) that will finance dissertations and postdoctoral positions.

Hydrogen energy carrier
The research developed on the theme "hydrogen energy" for (i) hydrogen production by electrolysis of water, (ii) purification by gas permeation through metallic membranes, (iii) storage, transport and distribution of hydrogen as metal hydrides, (iv) co-generation heat and electricity using fuel cells H2/O2 (v) systems electrolyser stack-reversible.

Photo-electrochemistry, photo-fuels
The research developed on the theme "photo-electrochemistry, photo-fuels" for (i) development of modules for the catalytic oxidation of water, reduction of protons and CO2 reduction, (ii) techniques assembly of modules for the development of photoactive molecular devices, (iii) the study of photophysical properties (joint CEA Team - UPS), (iv) development of new electrodes for the Electrolysis of Water Photo-assisted .

Transport and storage of electrical energy
Research on superconducting oxides at high temperature are critical objectives (i) a better understanding of the underlying physics from the study of crystals, (ii) optimizing composite alloy / oxide. The research developed on the theme "lithium battery" for (i) the synthesis of new intercalation materials, (ii) their structural and electrochemical characterization, (iii) the characterization of lithium-ion batteries for industrial interest.

New structural materials
The proposed studies focus on the mechanical and microstructural characterization of alloys and lightweight composite materials for reducing the energy needs of transportation. They also cover new assembly techniques for these materials. New alloys for nuclear 4th generation are also developing.

Chemistry and Information

» Coordinnator: Bertrand Poumellec

» Groups mobilized on that topic:
       Procédés et Substances Naturelles
       Catalyse Moléculaire
       Chimie Bioorganique et Bioinorganique
       Glycochimie Moléculaire et Macromoléculaire
       Chimie Inorganique
       Etude des Matériaux Hors Equilibre
       Physico-Chimie de l’Etat Solide

Information has become a multidisciplinary field, involving the following string: detectors (physical properties, chemical and biological), local routing information (physical and material sciences), processing this information (optical, mathematical), transport (optical, chemical materials), distribution (optical), interfacing with the user (display, ergonomic, biological chemistry, organic transduction) and finally storage.
It is thus that the axis brings together information to ICMMO for over 15 years of expertise in many of these disciplines: control of properties of molecules and magnetic solids or multiferroic, molecular interactions, control of the laser-glass and finally the simulation. The axis information is an important focus for the Institute. It gives rise to research among the best internationally and is the 1st axis in financial terms with basic activities to intensive recoverable in the short term (European contracts (5), ANR (6) and industrial). Its activity will intensify in the next four as well to improve information systems for its treatment in the field of sound, of course, but also in the field of life sciences, the living species constituting systems of 'the most developed information that we know. Thus, we observed a rise in several areas: the compute-intensive with a very important development of the project equipment CINAPS, nanomachines, activities based on sugar, or the laser-lens assembly with a femtosecond laser platform in conjunction with the General Council of Essonne.

Some activities will be financed under the RTRA Triangle of physics: nano-triggerable switches to the light in collaboration with CEA, 3D registration in connection with the group Manolya (Roosen) functionalization of metal with group MaCSyBio Materials, Components and Systems for Biophotonics Laboratory Charles Fabry de L'Institut d'Optique, functionalization of surfaces for the detection of information with the Laboratory of Atomic and Molecular Collisions (UPS) and the team of SPCSI DRECAM CEA.

Collaborations will be developed under the ESRP UniverSud Paris: The team of inorganic chemistry with the University Versailles Saint Quentin (group of molecular solids photoswitches), the team of Physical Chemistry of Solid State with the group mechanics Materials and Structures for Structural Design of refractive index recorded by laser in silica glass. The team Glycochemistry Molecular and Macromolecular lead a joint project with the Task of Assembling Molecular Thiais for molecular recognition, door selection information.

The ICMMO also benefit from international collaboration through European contracts such as the project SOPRANO (Spin and Orbital Physics: research of advanced oxides, ITN Marie Curie) or the extension of project FLAG (Femtosecond Laser Applications in Glasses, FET -STREP).
Collaborations with the LCP should be developed in the field of nanosciences and Chemistry in the calculation, including the development of quantum computers or massively parallel. The expertise available in ICMMO expected on some points (control of asymmetric synthesis and pulsed lasers) to be useful and exploited fruitfully in collaborations between the two Institutes. Finally, dynamic combinatorial chemistry developed in recent years in ICMMO should be harnessed in the development of biological computers. Indeed, in this case, we seek to realize a number of reactions from one hand, products that encode the initial conditions and on the other hand, catalysts or inhibitors that encode the computational.

Chemistry and Environment

» Coordinnator: Marie-Christine Scherrmann

» Groups mobilized on that topic:
       Procédés et Substances Naturelles
       Catalyse Moléculaire
       Chimie Bioorganique et Bioinorganique
       Glycochimie Moléculaire et Macromoléculaire
       Chimie Inorganique
       Physico-Chimie de l’Etat Solide

Having appointed in June 2008 on a new teacher profile "green chemistry" (Marie Christine Scherrmann), the ICMMO engage resolutely in the next four on the way of chemistry "environmentally friendly". This will include various aspects mentioned below:

Renewable energy: these activities overlap with the previous theme and will include production of hydrogen by electrolysis of water and storage (P. MILLET) and research on artificial photosynthesis under the leadership of A. AUKAULOO.

The development of new synthetic methods incorporating the principles of green chemistry. Several strategies will be developed in the sense of a gradual and steady evolution towards cleaner processes such as molecular catalysis: use of enantioselective metal catalysts, biocatalysis (the use of enzymes in synthesis, bioconversion): metalloproteins artificial oxidation selective organic molecules (JP Mahy), use of enzymes for the synthesis of oligosaccharides and sugars modified by sulfotransferases (C. THE NARVOR), the use of chiral ionic liquid produced from natural sources from the sugar industry and chemistry under microwave (Vo Than Giang), chemistry supported aqueous phase (Mark Scherrmann)

Remediation: the treatment of industrial water effluents and particularly the oxidative degradation of chlorophenols be pursued by means of enzyme (peroxidase encapsulated in polymeric maricas Mr. THERISOD) or catalytic (metal complex bio-inspired, F. BANSE).

Institut de Chimie Moléculaire et des Matériaux d'Orsay

Présentation de l'ICMMO



En cours de réactualisation ...

Les équipes indépendantes scientifiquement, mènent leurs activités de recherche suivant leurs domaines de compétences. Néanmoins, l’ensemble des activités se développera selon 4 axes transversaux visant à concilier recherche fondamentale et applications bénéfiques pour la société :

  1. Chimie et Santé
  2. Energie
  3. Information
  4. Environnement 

 

Chimie et Santé

» Coordinateur : David Bonnaffé

» Equipes mobilisées sur ce thème :
       Synthèse Organique et Méthodologie
       Procédés et Substances Naturelles
       Catalyse Moléculaire
       Chimie Bioorganique et Bioinorganique
       Glycochimie Moléculaire et Macromoléculaire
       RMN en milieu orienté

L’ICMMO possède tous les savoir-faire nécessaires à l’élaboration par des méthodes originales, de molécules cibles énantiomériquement pures et à l’analyse de leur interaction avec les biomolécules. La compréhension de ces interactions enzyme/substrat, protéine/sucre ou protéine/protéine est à la base de la mise au point des médicaments du futur. Chimie organique et la méthodologie, maîtrise de la chiralité, chimie des sucres et des complexes métalliques. Autant de savoir-faire que possèdent les chercheurs de l’ICMMO, sans oublier la détection de la chiralité par RMN, qui joueront un rôle essentiel et synergique pour le développement de médicaments, métallodrogues, biocapteurs, enzymes artificiels… Le rôle moteur de nos chimistes dans les étapes permettant de passer d’une « touche » à une « tête de série » (optimisation moléculaire, tests in vitro, in cellulo et in vivo), ainsi que dans sa mise en forme moléculaire (prodrogues, vectorisation, préparation de puces et de biocapteurs), sera également un ressort primordial des recherches développées dans les prochaines années. Seront ainsi privilégiés dans les années à venir.

La synthèse de nouvelles molécules : synthèse totale de molécules biologiquement actives (oligosaccharides, alcaloïdes et analogues), préparation par des voies originales (catalyse énantiosélective, mémoire de chiralité, photochimie…) d’acides aminés non naturels, conceptions rationnelle ou optimisation moléculaire d’inhibiteurs ou de ligands de protéines (nouveaux glycoconjugués anti-inflammatoires, chimères sucre-protéine ciblant le VIH), utilisation de la chimie combinatoire dynamique, ou classique, et préparation de nanoparticules à surfaces combinatoires pour identifier de nouvelles structures présentant une activité modulatrice de l’assemblage des fuseaux de tubuline ou de la migration des métastases.

La mise en forme des molécules représentera un axe de recherche très actif : modification de surfaces par des molécules pour les rendre bioactives ou pour élaborer des outils de diagnostic (détection de la thrombose, d’AND viraux…), vectorisation de principes actifs par couplage avec des mimes de RGD ou des oligosaccharides, préparation de prodrogues, présentation multivalente de composés oligosaccharidiques pour potentialiser leur effet.
Enfin, le développement de nouvelles méthodes d’imagerie cellulaire ou d’horloges moléculaires témoin du vieillissement cellulaire constitueront de nouveaux axes de recherche originaux, ainsi que le développement perpétuel de nouvelles analyses de RMN en milieu orienté.

Chimie et Energie

» Coordinateur : Pierre Millet

» Equipes mobilisées sur ce thème :
       Glycochimie Moléculaire et Macromoléculaire
       Chimie inorganique
       Etude des Matériaux Hors Equilibre
       Physicochimie de l’Etat Solide

Là aussi, l’ICMMO possède, par le biais des équipes mentionnées ci-dessus, un certain nombre d’expertises qui l’autorisent à penser qu’il peut participer de manière extrêmement importante à résoudre un problème qui s’avère de plus en plus crucial pour notre société : l’énergie. L’ICMMO pense même créér  progressivement, comme il sera évoqué plus loin, une équipe centrée sur ce thème. Pour l’heure, les quatre aspects principalement développés mêleront harmonieusement recherche académique et recherche appliquée et seront soutenus par le biais de contrats (européens, ANR, industriels) qui financeront thèses et stages post-doctoraux.

Hydrogène vecteur énergétique
Les activités de recherche développées sur la thématique « hydrogène-énergie » concernent (i) la production d’hydrogène par électrolyse de l’eau ; (ii) la purification par perméation gazeuse à travers des membranes métalliques; (iii) le stockage, le transport et la distribution de l’hydrogène sous forme d’hydrures métalliques ; (iv) la co-génération chaleur-électricité à l’aide de piles à combustible H2/O2 ; (v) les systèmes électrolyseur-pile réversibles.

Photo-électrochimie, photo-fuels
Les activités de recherche développées sur la thématique « photo-électrochimie, photo-fuels » concernent (i) le développement de modules catalytiques pour l’oxydation de l’eau, la réduction de protons et la réduction de CO2 ; (ii) les techniques d’assemblage des modules pour le développement de dispositifs moléculaires photoactifs ; (iii) l’étude des propriétés photophysiques (équipe mixte CEA – UPS) ; (iv) l’élaboration de nouvelles Electrodes pour l’Electrolyse de l’Eau Photo-assistée.

Transport et stockage de l'énergie électrique
Les recherches sur les oxydes supraconducteurs à haute température critique ont pour objectifs (i) une meilleure compréhension de la physique sous-jacente à partir de l'étude de monocristaux ; (ii) l'optimisation de composites alliage/oxyde. Les activités de recherche développées sur la thématique « batterie lithium » concernent (i) la synthèse de nouveaux matériaux d’intercalation ; (ii) leur caractérisation structurale et électrochimique ; (iii) la caractérisation de batteries lithium-ion d’intérêt industriel.

Nouveaux  matériaux de structure
Les études envisagées portent sur la caractérisation mécanique et microstructurale d'alliages et de matériaux composites légers destinés à diminuer les besoins énergétiques des moyens de transport. Elles concernent également de nouvelles techniques d'assemblage de ces matériaux. De nouveaux alliages destinés aux centrales nucléaires de 4ème génération sont également en développement.

Chimie et Information

» Coordinateur : Bertrand Poumellec

» Equipes mobilisées sur ce thème :
       Procédés et Substances Naturelles
       Catalyse Moléculaire
       Chimie Bioorganique et Bioinorganique
       Glycochimie Moléculaire et Macromoléculaire
       Chimie Inorganique
       Etude des Matériaux Hors Equilibre
       Physico-Chimie de l’Etat Solide

L’information est devenue un domaine pluridisciplinaire, impliquant la chaîne suivante : détecteurs (de propriétés physiques, chimiques et biologiques), acheminement local de l'information (physique et sciences des matériaux), traitement de cette information (optique, mathématique), transport (optique, chimie des matériaux), distribution (optique), interfaçage avec l'utilisateur (affichage, ergonomie, chimie biologique, organique, transduction) et enfin stockage.
Il se trouve ainsi, que l'axe information fédère à l’ICMMO depuis plus de 15 ans  des expertises dans un bon nombre de ces disciplines : maîtrise des propriétés des molécules et des solides magnétiques ou multiferroïques, les interactions moléculaires, maîtrise de l'interaction laser-verre et enfin la simulation. L’axe information est donc un axe important pour l'Institut. Il donne lieu à des activités de recherche parmi les meilleures au niveau international et constitue le 1er axe en terme financier avec des activités fondamentales à fort contenu valorisable à court terme (contrats européens (5), ANR (6) et industriels). Son activité va s’intensifier lors du prochain quadriennal aussi bien pour améliorer les systèmes d'information que pour son traitement, dans le domaine du solide, bien sûr, mais aussi dans le domaine des sciences du vivant, les espèces vivantes constituant les systèmes d'information les plus élaborés que l'on connaisse. Ainsi, on observera une montée en puissance de plusieurs domaines : le calcul intensif avec un développement très important des équipements du projet CINAPS, les nanomachines, les activités à base de sucre, ou encore l'interaction laser-verres avec le montage d'une plateforme laser femtoseconde en relation avec le Conseil Général de l'Essonne.

Certaines activités seront financées dans le cadre du RTRA Triangle de la Physique : nano-commutateurs déclenchables à la lumière en collaboration avec le CEA, enregistrement 3D en relation avec le groupe MaNoLiA (Roosen), fonctionnalisation des métaux avec le groupe MaCSyBio-Matériaux, Composants et Systèmes pour la Biophotonique du Laboratoire Charles Fabry de L'Institut d'Optique, fonctionnalisation de surfaces permettant la détection d'informations, avec le Laboratoire des Collisions Atomiques et Moléculaires (UPS) et l'équipe SPCSI du DRECAM au CEA.

Des collaborations se développeront dans le cadre du PRES UniverSud Paris : l’équipe de chimie inorganique avec l'Université Versailles Saint Quentin (groupe des solides moléculaires photocommutables), l’équipe de Physico-Chimie de l’Etat Solide avec le groupe Mécanique des Matériaux et des Structures pour le calcul des structures d'indice de réfraction inscrites par laser dans les verres de silice. L’équipe de Glycochimie Moléculaire et Macromoléculaire mènera un projet commun avec l'Equipe d'Assemblage Moléculaire de Thiais pour la reconnaissance moléculaire, porte de sélection d'informations.

L'ICMMO bénéficiera également de collaborations internationales à travers des contrats européens comme par exemple le projet SOPRANO (Spin and Orbital Physics : research of advanced oxides, ITN Marie-Curie) ou l'extension du projet FLAG (Femtosecond Laser Applications in Glasses, FET-STREP).
Les collaborations avec le LCP devraient se développer, dans le domaine des Nanosciences et de la Chimie pour le calcul, notamment pour le développement de l'ordinateur quantique ou massivement parallèle. L'expertise présente à l'ICMMO devrait sur certains points (maîtrise de la synthèse asymétrique et des lasers impulsionnels) être utile et exploitée de manière fructueuse dans des collaborations entre les deux Instituts. Enfin, la chimie combinatoire dynamique développée depuis quelques années à l'ICMMO devrait être mise à profit dans l’élaboration d’ordinateurs biologiques. En effet, dans ce cas, on cherchera à réaliser un grand nombre de réactions à partir, d'une part, de produits qui codent les conditions de départ et d'autre part, de catalyseurs ou d'inhibiteurs qui codent les contraintes de calcul.

Chimie et Environnement

» Coordinateur : Marie-Christine Scherrmann

» Equipes mobilisées sur ce thème :
       Procédés et Substances Naturelles
       Catalyse Moléculaire
       Chimie Bioorganique et Bioinorganique
       Glycochimie Moléculaire et Macromoléculaire
       Chimie Inorganique
       Physico-Chimie de l’Etat Solide

Ayant nommé en juin 2008 un nouveau professeur sur un profil “chimie verte” (Marie Christine SCHERRMANN), l’ICMMO s’engagera résolument lors du prochain quadriennal sur la voie de la chimie “respectueuse de l’environnement ». Ceci inclura divers aspects  évoqués ci-dessous :

  • Le développement de nouvelles méthodes de synthèse intégrant les principes de la chimie verte. Plusieurs stratégies seront développées dans le sens d’une évolution progressive et constante vers des procédés  non polluants tels que : la catalyse moléculaire : utilisation de catalyseurs métalliques énantiosélectifs; la biocatalyse (utilisation des enzymes en synthèse, bioconversions) : métalloprotéines artificielles pour l’oxydation sélective de molécules organique (J-P MAHY), utilisation d’enzymes pour la synthèse d’oligosaccharides et modification des sucres par des sulfotransférases (C. LE NARVOR) , l’utilisation de liquide ioniques chiraux élaborés à partir de sources naturelles provenant de l’industrie sucrière et la chimie sous micro-ondes (Giang VO THAN) , la chimie supportée en phase aqueuse (M-C. SCHERRMANN)
  • La dépollution : le traitement des effluents aqueux industriels et particulièrement la dégradation oxydante des chlorophénols sera poursuivie par des voies enzymatiques (peroxydases encapsulées dans des marices polymériques , M. THERISOD) ou catalytiques (complexes métalliques bio-inspirés, F. BANSE).

 

D ’autres stratégies extrêmement novatrices vont également être initiées :
B. Vauzeilles, va initier un projet tourné vers la préparation de nouveaux matériaux issus de la biomasse. L’équipe de Synthèse Organique et Méthodologie, dirigée par D. Aitken, qui n’était pas encore impliquée dans cet axe transversal va développer un projet de Synthèse – Photochimie et Organocatalyse, en collaboration avec des laboratoires de Reims (N. Hofmann) et Lyon (O. Piva). Ce sujet consiste à développer une méthodologie novatrice et performante pour l’obtention de molécules à haute valeur ajoutée en synthèse fine par le biais d'un procédé tandem organocatalyse-photochimie.