Institut de Chimie Moléculaire et des Matériaux d'Orsay

Laboratoire de Chimie des Procédés et des Substances Naturelles- LCPSN

Natural products : amino-acid chemistry

Valérie Alezra, Cyrille Kouklovsky, Sophie Thétiot-Laurent, Baby Viswambharan, Andrii Stanovych

cristaux3cristaux2cristaux1

The synthesis of unnatural amino acids is one of the challenges of actual synthesis. These compounds have multiple interests, both in organic synthesis in bioorganic chemistry. Two types of unnatural amino acids are being studied in the laboratory.
We have developed a general synthetic route to enantiomerically pure β,γ-diamino acids, based on a sequence reaction Blaise / diastereoselective reduction. This method leads to cyclic β,γ-diamino acids
(Org. Lett. 2007, 9, 2521 and J. Org. Chem. 2009, 74, 4177) and to fully protected β,γ-diamino acids (Org. Biomol. Chem. 2011, 9, 394). By applying this methodology, we performed a enantioselective and diastereoselective synthesis of Nemonapride (J. Org. Chem. 2008, 73,1162), which has antipsychotic activity. We currently use these β,γ-diamino acids for the synthesis and conformational study of γ-peptides (Amino Acids. 2011, 41, 687).

acide beta-gamma


quaternaire2

We have already synthesized hybrid peptides α shown below. NMR studies together with a restrained simulated annealing (collaboration with Dr. E. Miclet, Université Paris 6) revealed that an extended backbone conformation largely dominates in solution for as short as 4-residues long oligomers. This new fold type is devoid of any hydrogen bond and characterized by a four-fold symmetry (Chem. Commun. 2012, 48, 1982).

Original αγα tripeptides containing one β,γ-diamino acid have been also extensively studied. These studies revealed the presence of a C9 hydrogen bonded turn, which can be considered as a mimic of the well-known γ-turn. (Org. Biomol. Chem. 2012, 10, 9660).

We have also explored a new synthetic route to enantiomerically enriched quaternary α-amino acids based on the memory of chirality.

acide beta-gamma2

The proposed strategy therefore uses chirality of the natural α-amino acid as the sole source of chirality. The central chirality of the starting α-amino acid is transfered to the dynamic axial chirality tertiary aromatic amides. This strategy was validated on 5 amino acids. Thus, we developed a 3-step synthesis of enantioenriched or enantiopure quaternary α-amino acids (J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2008, 130, 5864 et J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2009, 131, 10711). A collaboration with Dr. P. Archirel (Laboratory of Chemical Physics, Orsay) and Pr. D. Merlet (Laboratory of NMR, ICMMO) has been initiated to understand the mechanisms involved (Tetrahedron 2008, 64, 1743). We are currently working on several extension of this methodology, included extension to glycine. This strategy has recently been applied to the total synthesis of L-methylDOPA (J. Org. Chem. 2012, 77, 8797).

quaternaire1

We have extended this methodology to the simplest amino acid, glycine, which do not present any asymmetric carbon. We have thus developed an absolute asymmetric synthesis based on the frozen chirality principle. The idea is the following: crystallization in a chiral conformation of an achiral oxazolidinone lead to the generation of chirality; this axial chirality is retained during the reaction at low temperature and induces a stereoselective attack by the electrophile (Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2012, 51, 4981) .

Institut de Chimie Moléculaire et des Matériaux d'Orsay

Laboratoire de Chimie des Procédés et des Substances Naturelles- LCPSN

Substances Naturelles: chimie des acides aminés

Valérie Alezra, Cyrille Kouklovsky, Sophie Thétiot-Laurent, Baby Viswambharan, Andrii Stanovych

cristaux3cristaux1

La synthèse d’acides aminés non naturels est l’un des enjeux de la synthèse actuelle. Ces composés présentent de multiples intérêts, tant en synthèse organique qu’en chimie bioorganique. Deux types d’acides aminés non naturels sont actuellement étudiés au laboratoire.
Nous avons développé une voie de synthèse générale d’acides
β,γ-diaminés énantiomériquement purs reposant sur une séquence Réaction de Blaise/réduction diastéréosélective. Cette méthode a été mise au point et conduit aux acides β,γ-diaminés sous forme aminopyrolidinone (Org. Lett. 2007, 9, 2521 et J. Org. Chem. 2009, 74, 4177) et aux acides β,γ-diaminés ouverts (Org. Biomol. Chem. 2011, 9, 394). En appliquant cette méthodologie, nous avons réalisé la synthèse énantio et diastéréosélective du Némonapride (J. Org. Chem. 2008, 73,1162), qui possède des activités antipsychotiques.


Nous étudions actuellement l'utilisation de ces acides β,γ-diaminés pour la synthèse et l’étude conformationnelle de γ-peptides (Amino Acids. 2011, 41, 687). Nous avons pu ainsi synthétiser les peptides hybrides α représentés ci-dessous et montrer, grâce à une étude de RMN et de modélisation contrainte (collaboration avec le Dr. E. Miclet, Université Paris 6), qu'ils adoptaient une conformation étendue en solution, stable sans liaison hydrogène et présentant une symétrie d'ordre 4 (Chem. Commun. 2012, 48, 1982).

Des tripeptides αγα originaux contenant un acide β,γ-diaminé ont également été étudiés. Ces études révèlent l'existence d'une liaison hydrogène formant une boucle C9, qui peut être considérée comme un analogue de γ-turn (Org. Biomol. Chem. 2012, 10, 9660).

D'autre part, nous avons mis au point une nouvelle voie de synthèse d’acides α-aminés quaternaires énantiomériquement enrichis, fondée sur la mémoire de chiralité.

La stratégie envisagée utilise donc comme unique source de chiralité la chiralité de l’acide α-aminé naturel initial. La chiralité centrale de l'acide α-aminé initial serait mémorisé par la chiralité axiale dynamique d'amides tertiaires aromatiques. Cette stratégie a été validée sur 5 acides aminés. Ainsi, nous avons mis au point une synthèse en 3 étapes d'acides α-aminés quaternaires énantioenrichis ou énantiopurs (J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2008, 130, 5864 et J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2009, 131, 10711). Une collaboration avec le Dr. P. Archirel du laboratoire de Chimie Physique (Orsay) et avec le laboratoire de RMN en milieu orienté a été initiée afin de comprendre les mécanismes mis en jeu (Tetrahedron 2008, 64, 1743). Cette stratégie a été récemment appliquée à la synthèse de la L-méthylDOPA (J. Org. Chem. 2012, 77, 8797).

Nous avons étendu cette méthodologie au plus simple des acides aminés, la glycine, qui ne possède pas de carbone asymétrique. Nous avons ainsi développé une synthèse asymétrique absolue reposant sur le principe de la chiralité gelée. L'idée est la suivante : la cristallisation dans une conformation chirale d'une oxazolidinone achirale permet la génération de chiralité ; cette chiralité axiale est conservée lors de la réaction à basse température et induit une attaque stéréosélective de l'électrophile (Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2012, 51, 4981) .

 

.